Poets logo

The Comfort of Silence in a Noisy World

A series of haikus celebrating the comfort of silence in our everyday lives.

By Peeping_SoulPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
The Comfort of Silence in a Noisy World
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

Silence Can Be Comforting

We are often so busy in the rat-race grind of our daily lives that we fail to notice the complex chemistry within seemingly simple everyday sounds. But what’s even harder to notice than everyday sounds are those magic, brief moments when noise ceases and the power of silence peeps through the cacophony of noise.

This poem is all about taking some time to get comfort from the magical sounds of silence, in order to make sense of the noise.

The Silence of Coldness

Your silence gave me,

the answers I wanted to hear,

deep beyond the noise.

The Silence of Confusion

With your all-knowing smile,

you manage to say a lot,

leaving me tongue-tied.

The Silence of Forgetfulness

Sometimes I forget,

that I am still waiting

to break my silence.

The Silence of Not Knowing

In the silence,

I stand naked with my thoughts.

I have yet to learn.

The Silence of Numbness

You broke my trust.

There will be no open doors.

Awaken stupor.

The Silence of the Hidden

When you dare to listen,

the silence echoes my words.

Try to read my mind.

The Silence of Fear

Power intoxicates.

And nothing strengthens it more,

so much as silence.

inspirational

About the Creator

Peeping_Soul

I am an executive who likes spending time reading and writing about almost everything under the sun.I love writing within the cusp of relationships, history, and creativity where boundaries are blurred, and possibilities are immense.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Peeping_SoulWritten by Peeping_Soul

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.