Poets logo

The Comfort of Family

And knowing someone loves you

By Time SweeperPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
A city where a family was born, broken, and reborn.

Unconditional love

Like that we believe from our Gods above

The cash condition is a new addition

A subtle attrition to our human condition

Moving through this world not knowing what may happen moment to moment is a frightening thing

Knowing my family loved me no matter always gave me the freedom to sing

Despite my doubt

Despite no clout

Despite not knowing what the Fuck this life was about

Knowing my family was in my corner always stilled my doubt

Brought comfort in times of great fear

Trusting the love of the ones I held dear got me through time and time again

Knowing, that even in the end good or bad knowing everything I had

Done,

Right or wrong

They would love me simply because it was my song

Comfort greater even than the fear of learning I was wrong

That I could not trust them all along

But

Nothing could be more comforting

Than the thought I now consider

That maybe

I was not.

sad poetryslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Time Sweeper

I have no formal background in writing outside a few classes. I grew up reading Tolkien, Pratchett, and a few others I attribute my language too. But my true inspiration, as well as literacy, comes from a 7 year old boy and his Tiger.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.