Poets logo

The Come Up

Learning Curve

By Arthur WaltonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I came up different from most would be simply just to say the least; in my family paying for keys has nothing to do with a car dealership lease.

I was taught how to weigh on a triple beam scale before how to ride a bike; not suprising since my family is full of drug dealers, bikers, and gang members alike.

While most kids my age were at the doctors getting measured plus checked how much they weigh; I was being showed just how to bust down a pound and how much a kilo weighs.

While at school learning how our country gained its independence in retrospect; at home was taught how to throw hands in case anyone ever show a lack of respect.

While most teenage boys were being taught by their parents bout the birds and the bees; I already had a little girl and banged with the infamous Bs.

I came up different is quite possibly the biggest understatement ever to be spoken; whie kids were at the ark swinging I was learning how to load a double shotgun and unload it.

Most normal child hood things or experiences to me just did not exist; while girls my age began to write everything in a journal I was taught to never snitch.

You name a situation and I will explain how my life was not the same or different; they were learning the value of a dollar I learned money comes fast and gets spent.

They got taught to value each and everyday plus don't let it pass to fast; I was taught enjoy life as well as live each day as if it could be your last.

They were learning to not talk to strangers and all that fun little stuff; me, always leave home with clean drawers on in case you get locked up.

They were taught bout important court cases from the past with verdicts given of acquittal or guilt; by then I was already a felon as juvenile offender with a court file that was 3 inches thick.

While they were preparing for the all important High School Senior Prom; I was in the county jail just waiting on my sentence to make me an adult felon.

While they were picking out what gown and cap to wear for their graduation; I was on house arrest in the midst of an 8 year parole sentence of probation.

While they were learning and studying to try get they drivers license at the DMV; I had been making monthly trips driving 500 miles for years trafficking things illegally.

They were learning not only how to ride but also control a 10 speed bike; had to get my hardship license to make money since mom was disabled and unable to provide.

They were worried bout a sweet 16 party and what mom would do for their entertainment; I was busy hustling drugs to make ends I'm t to make the mortgage payment.

You think you had a rough life then I dare you to try and compare notes; I had a nervous breakdown at age of 2 from having a knife held to my throat.

Have been pronounced dead at least 4 times and came back to talk about it; been shot, stabbed, sliced, beat over the head with a lead pipe, just to start the list.

Not to mention jumped multiple times as well as thrown out of a moving vehicle; plus proud teenage parent, known gang banger, and hustler extrordinaire all before getting to high school.

My mom says I'm a cat with 9 lives hope you can understand what she means; since I have died multiple times to just come back before age of 17.

Should have died a few other times if believe what the doctors have had to say; so truly I am blessed to still be here to have opurtunity to write this for you today.

So when I say I came up different it is not with a bit of exaggeration; my life being described as different, wild, or crazy is not an understatement.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Arthur Walton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Arthur Walton is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.