Poets logo

The Colour of Me

Poetry Challenge

By ROSLYN WILLIAMSPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Colour of Me

The red tinged golden haze of the morning softly raised its head & the rays of the yellow sun catapulted the darkness behind the horizon that Sunday morn.

The day hallowed in the glistening facets of the rainbow diamond dew that like a canopy spread itself as far as the eye could see.

In this sea of mist & colour I was thrust into the world & I was Birthed.

The sky-blue iris of my eyes laced with green hues captivated those who looked through this window & saw beyond my soul.

The white noise I once heard now dissipated to a soothing melody of sound as I was held close to the bosom where the familiar beating of an internal drum held me, so that I floated into bliss.

Safe In loving arms, I was embraced, here began the journey, a road of great length with hidden & unknown treasures, scenes of sudden devastation that would await me, test me, strengthen me, prune me, tear me, beat me, weaken me, inspire me, motivate me, break me, heal me, repair me, & eventually make me whole again.

Held fast with rivers of flowing gold joining what was broken with a value unknown in its precious seal of unification.

The rain would come, clear colourless rain, it would fall from the windows of the sky that had no end, the white blinding blizzards would frost my extremities, the piercing cold burning like a flame filled fire deep unto the bones within.

The winds would gather from all four corners & their force howling a thunderous tune till the earth shook from the reverberations of its unharnessed power.

The ground would open its mouth splitting my path with a chasm to wide to cross.

The mountains would shake & the cliffs would fall & the avalanche would bury me to the doors of no return.

The quaking waters from the open deep would rise & swell racing & expanding as it neared the shoreline engulfing my path, swamping the road & extinguishing all hope.

The sands of time would erode my inner strength & the vibrant colours of joy & peace would dull their flame; shadows of grey & colourless white would taunt the depths on my inner most being resulting in a painful hideous piercing high pitch cry that would echo the globe flinging itself to the ends of the universe.

What road is this that I embarked upon?

Is there no map, no guiding light to light my way, no directions handed to this new inexperienced traveller?

Is there no rest from the slings & arrows that seek to eliminate me?

Time spiralled & the pages turned & the doors appeared one by one.

How many keys did the world provide?

How many scarlet sunsets & orange glowing sunrises did it perfect to show & light my way?

How many keys never turned the lock?

How many doors remained barred?

How many corridors did I run as a maze engulfed me?

How many treasures did I miss?

How many wars did I avoid?

How many deaths did I not die?

How many hearts did I touch with the warmth of love that I gave?

How many were repelled with my darkness, the black shadows that I grappled?

How many grey slated skeleton bones made havoc for those who pursued me?

How much music did I give to the world that lived in the darkness?

How many black notes on a white page did I write that brought the joy of pink, purple & crimson.

What symphony did I play with the cello harp & violin?

What song did my voice like honey sweet resonate to the ears of those in heartfelt pain?

What glaring light of yellow & white did I give to illuminate the crevices of pain for those that were lost?

What lights did I place on the highway to guide those who may follow?

What inspiration did I encourage to those dwelling in my sorrow?

Who did I carry along the way?

Who did I breathe life into?

How many did I bury?

What skill did I learn along the way?

Did I speak the colours of harmony?

Did I speak the monotone & shade less hues of chaos?

Or did I pierce the air with the red of spilled blood with my viperous untamed tongue?

Did I freeze the souls with hurricane white ice hardened with bitterness?

Did I allow the brown briar vine with spikey thorns to entangle me in its snare of revenge?

Did I speak ill of my fellow man & made no space to assist him from the evil he may commit?

Did I save even one from perishing?

Did I bring the comfort of forgiveness?

Did I let go within to finally fly free?

What light do I shine for you?

What colour do I exude?

What palette of chroma does the artist paint me in?

What canvas is used to combine the brush strokes of pastels & oils?

I am a picture, a multichromatic tincture of colorimetry.

I am a melody of colour, a harmonising array of displayed pigmentation on the canvas of life.

I travel a road that is mine & mine alone,

AND I AM ME.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

True Colours Challenge

Copyright 3rd May 2021

Roslyn Williams

Word count 886

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

ROSLYN WILLIAMS

actress in stage & film , poetry & public speaker , dabbling in childrens story writing . beauty therapist & nail artist body piercer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.