Poets logo

The Colors of my Spells

and the shades of intention

By Maria Shimizu ChristensenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
12
The Colors of my Spells
Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

Black

is the color

of a counter-curse

and blue is a shade

of forgiveness,

the book of spells

laid out.

But it also noted

I can find

my own meanings

in the colors

I feel

deeply

in my aching bones.

So,

while my skin

fades to purple dusk,

mottling into the color

of wisdom,

I color my intentions

and

my body becomes

the spell

and I cast it,

to the wind

and away from here.

I leave

through a green door

of freedom,

and clothe myself

all in the white

of new beginnings,

and I dream up

a new color of courage.

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

Maria Shimizu Christensen

Writer living my dreams by day and dreaming up new ones by night

The Read Ink Scribbler

Bauble & Verve

Instagram

Also, History Major, Senior Accountant, Geek, Fan of cocktails and camping

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.