Poets logo

The Color Wheel

It's been a rainbow ride

By Denise SheltonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Color Wheel
Photo by Daniel Roe on Unsplash

First I was yellow, fluffy, and shy

Recently hatched, preparing to fly

Then I was green, just barely a twig,

Yet quickly shot up, began to grow big.

Next, I was brown as the summer grew long,

Then I went blue and I sang a sad song,

Life was a valentine, red as a rose,

Blooming heart beating for him that I chose.

I became orange when baby made three,

Juicy and sweet, straight from the tree,

Queen of my castle the purple robe fit,

Triumphs and tragedies along with it.

My colors have multiplied, so many shades,

Patterns and pictures, symbols and grades,

Peacock and umber, emerald, sea green,

Magenta and mango and deep aubergine.

No longer one color, I'm now a white light,

But when I expire, I'll be black as night,

The absence of color, the absence of me,

Now color defines me, but then I'll be free.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Denise Shelton

Denise Shelton writes on a variety of topics and in several different genres. Frequent subjects include history, politics, and opinion. She gleefully writes poetry The New Yorker wouldn't dare publish.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.