Poets logo

The Color of my mind

What makes people unique

By Iolanda MonteiroPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Chained Girl

The color of my mind

I had a dream

A dream of meeting a little girl

On the edge of the ocean is where we bridged

Mirroring one another in silence

watching flocks of birds disappear into the visible horizon

the sunset paints the sky with its dying light

Ignited by the amber flames

Purified by red’s warmth

Reality collides with the remembrance of purple

Submerged by the mysteries of blue

Tension between the day and the night erupts

The color of my mind mirrors the sky

Vivid colors once, now devoured by the changing times

To those who have come and gone, thru the eons of time

Seeking answers

To unbeknownst questions

I too, patiently wait for the unknown

Searching for answers in the dark sky, as our ancestors once did

suddenly bliss swept over us, the ocean was alive, glowing with light

as bioluminescent life danced before us

plants, mushrooms, fireflies with their fiery neon brilliance of emerald green, sparkling blue

the sky lit with the bashful deep red of the blood moon, became the color of our minds

the unreal colors of my dream, awakens our souls

The ocean became our melody

the warm wet ocean sand became our dance floor

glowing under under our sinking feet, as we woke up the sleeping bioluminescent life with the joy of our dance

A phenomenal moment of peace running and skipping like children

A feeling of longing to belong, rattled my soul

Fighting emotions I couldn't translate

Our heart and mind

Found balances in each other

This little girl was a mystery to me

I felt like I’ve known her my whole life

“Who are you?" I asked

Her silences spoke a million words

I saw a familiar pain in her eyes

She was a lost soul

With a broken heart

alone and confused

I wanted to protect her like a knight

in a moment, the flux of reality changed

as i ran away from the ocean

air swept us like dust lusting for everlasting love

an invisible line separated us

halting her from crossing over

I pulled her my strength weakened

Our knees rested on the ground

My hands wouldn't dare to let go

She was my ocean, I was her sky

I wanted to follow the sun into tomorrow

Her yesterday was filled with sorrow

unhealed wounds hunted her

she was special to me

I held her near my heart

whispered softy, "It’s okay, I wouldn't let go",,,

I felt myself frowning in my dream

I want to see more of life, but I

Didn't know how to let go of this little girl

Her silence puzzled me

I cried for her, for me, for us

She smiled and put her hands on my tears

Swiping away this sadness with a single kiss

At last she spoke with a familiar smile

I am unique like the colors the sunset paints in the sky

I am energy, love, and a survivor like red

I am warmth, creative, inspirational like orange

I am intelligence, optimistic, and abundance like yellow

I am tranquility like green

You're my ocean as I am your sky like blue

I am powerful and always transforming like purple

I am the color of the bio-luminescence ocean

I am you, you are me and we are uni

I am your past and you're my future

In order to move forward you must set me free

Fight for your dreams

Our perception and strength to keep looking towards the future

no matter how dark the skies become makes you unique

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Iolanda Monteiro

Sta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.