Poets logo

The Color of my Convictions

and Honest Hues of my Harassment for Honor

By Karla Bowen HermanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The color of my convictions and honest hues of my harassment for honor.

It makes me so blue

whenever they say,

“It’s just a phase she’s going through.”

My world is gray

because they insist,

“You must live only our way.”

Often I feel very green;

so ill because

my side is never seen.

I have to watch it, because I see red

every time they resent

my soul being fed.

My mind is dark purple

because my convictions

are NOT debatable.

They don’t like orange, the color of my cringe:

“Live a popular life,

rather than on the fringe!"

I felt odd as a lime

when I was told,

“Wait until you’re in your prime.”

My heart hurts in aqua

when they question

my piety, (my "taqwa”).

They act like I’m teal;

unable to hurt

and unable to feel.

Their love is black;

they’re so set in their ways

they give me no slack.

My intentions are white;

Oh, how I wish they’d see

my motives are pure and my passion is bright.

My shoulders are navy;

the load I carry

is sometimes very heavy.

My courage is pink;

when confronted by bullies

I’m so ashamed that I shrink.

Their response is maroon

when they claim,

“We cannot listen, it is much too soon!”

Lack of understanding is violet

when they insist,

“We can't bear to hear. Can't you keep it private?”

Yet, I’m training my voice to be coral;

I’m ready to make a defense,

and be ever more vocal.

My hope is peach;

an anchor that keeps me trying,

their heart to reach.

My resolve is gold;

to my principles I’m loyal

and determined to uphold.

Endurance is silver;

despite their ridicule,

My message I’ll minister.

The color yellow

reminds me how important it is

to remain mild and mellow.

Resolved and brown,

determined am I

to take the higher ground.

Understanding them is amethyst;

something I must do, if I'm ever to reach their heart

while I await my deliverance.

Common ground is brass;

when they torment and harass

the kindest response is to show class.

Prayer, precious prayer, is the color of bone;

whenever I feel isolated, it assures me

I’m never truly alone.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Karla Bowen Herman

I've always wanted to be an author, ever since I was a little girl. Time has a way of flying by when you're raising a family. But, I've discovered you're never too old to start! May something I write someday, lift someone's heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.