Poets logo

The Color of Love

Exist Beyond the Spectrum

By Anthony HerringtonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

Entering this world under the white light.

A pure innocent future that looks so bright.

Red with anger when I can't have my way.

A furious boy that just wants to play.

Green with envy that makes me sick.

Always wanting what others have and growing tired of it.

That was until I found you.

And you found something borrowed, something blue.

Tickled pink at the life we will share.

If only I had known, it was headed for despair.

Now black is the darkness where my emotions lie.

For rainbow is the flag your heart wants to fly.

I once turned red with anger because leaving was your choice.

But now I’m blue with sadness when I miss your voice.

I’ve gone through the color spectrum to describe how I feel.

About the love we had that our bands said was real.

Though it sometimes hurts, I’m still here on your side.

Supporting you as you wave your flag with Pride.

Cause I know it wasn’t easy to come out of your shell.

But I am proud of you for it and will always wish you well.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Anthony Herrington

I am a lover, a fighter, a father, and writer. I am still making my place in this world but hope to inspire people with my poetry to do the same.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Anthony HerringtonWritten by Anthony Herrington

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.