Poets logo

The Color Between Happiness and Desire

True Colors Shine Through

By Robin LaurinecPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

I am a scorching ember clinging to life in a sea of black,

refusing to be stomped out,

to be put out by the garish hand of those who wish to hold me down.

I am the sunset as the last blinding rays of light

pierce through the veil of night,

and dispel the shadows for a moment longer.

I am an apricot, whose soft orange and tan rind

hides a sweet center,

but an even harder pit.

I am the autumn glory,

my leaves drifting through the air

and dancing with the promise of the coming cold,

but also the rebirth that follows.

I am a golden toad,

a splotch of orange amidst the green

and envious vines that threaten to drag you under;

a hidden beam of warmth surrounded by the oppressive cold.

I am a tiger lily,

a delicate array of individual parts

hiding behind the façade of ferocity

curled up upon itself,

like a shy woman sitting alone on the bus.

I am a thousand different shades, hues, tones, and intensities.

I am the color trapped between yellowed happiness and reddened desire,

a product of both, but belonging to neither;

energetic, uncontrollable, immutable.

I blaze with the light of a thousand flames,

soaring skyward to join with their ancestors in the sky;

both consuming and consumed, all the while

humbling itself to the wind and the searing rain.

I am all that Mother Nature has made me

And yet still I blaze, like an ember

that defies the world, struggling against all odds;

for it knows that a single spark

is enough to dispel the darkness for a moment longer.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.