Poets logo

The cliffside.

The day I faced my death

By Ciara McGregorPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The sun was cruel against my skin that day

My self and I sat by the broken wall

the wind pulled my skirt, begging me to play

begged me to run to the cliffside and fall

The grass was dry and brittle as tinders

It scratched my calves, cutting my feet... burning

Walking to the cliff I filled with shivers

My soul began to ache, it was yearning

As I teetered on the edge, my breath caught

A blast of air threw me back on the grass

Crying, I screamed at the cliff, my heart wrought

Tears ran down my cheeks, my soul filled with glass

I didn't understand why? why am I?

why am I still here? I don't belong here.

I want people to be happy... I try.

That effort fills me with nothing but fear.

I force myself to live to please others.

I have neglected myself for too long

but... there might be more I can discover...

perhaps, for me, this time I can be strong.

I looked death in the eyes that summer day

From that day on I decided to stay

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Ciara McGregor

Creator of micro fiction for the easily distracted!

Imagination prompts and fantasy ideas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.