Poets logo

The Child's Mind

Farewell Professor R

By Soul576Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Child's Mind
Photo by Isai Ramos on Unsplash

The darkness inside grows, by my own doing,

Bringing about outer fear,

Speeding all around me,

Day and night, the shadows forever prevail,

I know not of their origin but know only the child inside is responsible.

As the night fell and the noises ceased,

The figures started to stir, shuffling and shouting around me,

Most dare not get near, but tonight the whispers, singing and thuds do just enough to frighten,

My restlessness grows with them, destroying my last to be renewed.

A face forever remembered, different from the rest,

The luminous man moved slowly as his wrinkled hand reached out to grasp me,

Only a slight glimpse of humanity in his callous eyes,

I learned this brings about true fear, the sinister pleasure my terror brought him,

Oddly human in nature.

The noises, words and people scorched into my memory,

These are no longer of my child's mind, the adult has taken over.

fact or fictionheartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Soul576

I don't really write, much... or at all. I just thought I needed a place to remember where I've come from so I can move on to the future. I hope someone enjoys my writing, and hopefully it isn't too cringy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.