Poets logo

The Chicken Joke

Why do?

By Bret CrowPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by: Pixabay

I took a sharpened pencil

and put it to the paper.

Scribbled just a while

and put it down for later.

And then I went and saw it,

what was scribbled down and wrote,

To me it looked as if someone

had scribbled down a joke.

"Why the chicken crossed the road?",

with nary a reply.

The Chicken seemed to scribble back,

with a tearful in its eye.

"I do not understand why they all must

knoweth why I cross.

I do it for myself,

for the other side is lost."

And as i'm looking back

over how i spent my day,

I'm like the the chicken that had crossed

and scribbled it away.

childrens poetry
1

About the Creator

Bret Crow

Hello!! My Name is Bret Crow, I'm a Composer/Bassist here in Denton, TX. I love to write and create music. I write silly poetry and stories, love to have fun creating all types of art and music. Thank you for your time, have a great day!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.