Poets logo

The channeled spirits of childhood trauma and confusion have spoken through inebriated fingers

Subtitle: I am high

By HoaramPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
More often than not, I was led to this spectacle.

I walk up to the counter

A place no other child encounter:

Bottles of rum and whiskey,

Behind the blurred enchanter.

I don’t know his age nor name,

And our families are not the same.

But that brother looked upon my father

In a sober shame.

For he let me walk up the counter

A place no child should encounter:

Bottles of rum and whiskey,

Behind the blurred enchanter.

He served me all the same,

For to protest would be vain.

It wasn’t the first time he saw me

Stumble in ‘motional pain.

For as a child, I was led to the counter

A place no child should encounter:

Bottles of rum and whiskey,

Empty behind the blurred enchanter.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hoaram

Just trying to get by doing what I have a passion for. Please consider leaving a tip if anything I say stirs something inside you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.