Poets logo

The Champion of Venus

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 4 years ago 1 min read

We are one god together

Your anger

Comes from places of good

Intentions

Freedom isn’t free

But it should be

No?

The tech kids are on us

The technoids

Supply us

I’m no villain

But it’s fun

To pretend to be one

Sometimes

Been singing it long since

I found you

Unbound you

How alone

That I really was

Hung on the phone

But I wrote of the dirges,

The scourges

Of passion

And somehow

You heard them,

And took to their fashion

Despite how it clashed

With the outfitted

Madness

The first thought

To pop

In my head

An old adage

Went something like

She wasn’t meant to be

Waves at the sea

Wasn’t meant to be you

Wasn’t meant to be me

Couldn’t see

Every

In the unity beam

Nor as high

As my smoldering wings

Carried me

There was her

There was him

There was light-dimming

Din

Resonance

In the fading of timeless

Again

There was kings

There was queens

There was ambient

Fiends

There were beings

Redeeming

My fatalist fates

In the face of believing

And then intervening

To herald my victory

Triumphant

Eulogy

Proud to be falling

In love with serenity

Dare as I

Bold as the

Erinyes

Bearing me

Sharing my mystery

Glimpse of infinity

With what remembrance’s

Remnants

Remain

In the current rendition’s

Revisionist page

slam poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael Brandon MarcheseWritten by Michael Brandon Marchese

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.