Poets logo

The Caverns Between

a poem

By Colleen BorstPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Caverns Between
Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

The space between us grows wider.

And not in a metaphorical way

where it's just my mind conjuring space.

I am witnessing

caverns piling onto each other;

the space in-between banks expand,

and you, on the side opposite of me

with your small gardening trowel

chiseling away at the edge

and throwing the dirt behind you.

First, I think maybe you intend

to build a bridge,

a small walkway to the other side

where I can say "hello" and you will answer

and we can hear each other

and maybe we can share a cup of tea.

But as I stand here

watching the cavern grow,

it becomes obvious you are increasing the gap

and using the debris

to build yourself a little hut in which to hide.

I chose to sit

on the edge and watch

the sun reach the horizon

as your hands make

these caverns grow into canyons.

Near the end,

right before the absence of light

envelopes the expanse above us,

as you go into your hut to find rest,

purples and crimsons and bright oranges

flame up over the rocks,

my breath catches and

I lose sight of you,

turning my focus to the stars.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Colleen Borst

As an artist and a writer, I love pulling strands of folklore into our current world, imagining what could be, and paying respect to the past.

Visit me at ColleenBorst.com or etsy.com/shop/ModernHexology

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.