Poets logo

The Cat Next-Door

an original poem by Jason White

By Jason WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Cat Next-Door
Photo by Gema Saputera on Unsplash

Sometimes I put too much stock

In what you think

Of me

Of him

Of her

Of them

Of the fucking cat next-door

Sometimes I hear you coming

And I hide

Everything I am doing

Everything about me

And I put on a face that is bored

And deep inside

I cringe at the sound of your voice

I thought I'd expand my wings

I thought I'd live a little

For a moment I forgot I wasn't alone

A d I betrayed myself

With a smile

You asked me what I was thinking

And I told you

Nothing

Because I just can't hear what you'd say

Sometimes I don't want to hear

What you have to say

About the fucking cat next-door

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Jason White

Jason White is a father, a grandfather, knowledge seeker and sharer. Jason is the owner of Growth Positive Consulting where he puts his fundraising and management skills to great use. He is a writer, a woodworker, and a philanthropist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.