Poets logo

The Castle at the End of Time

Roses belong in gardens

By Brendan ParkerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2

Ivy creeps along the parapet,

Vines shift with a passing breeze.

The sky cries stars at sunset,

Windy songs cross cloudy seas.

In the tallest tower you break in the piano keys,

You who taught me how to rhyme,

new chords twisted in strange melodies.

I’ll see you in the castle at the end of time.

In the courtyard are dark silhouettes,

Worshippers bowing on their knees,

Whispered words with silence met.

Can you hear their pleas?

Through shut eyes teardrops squeeze.

the tallest poppies are cut in their prime,

but that does not deter the bees.

I’ll see you in the castle at the end of time.

I would never hasten to forget

the summer days we passed with ease,

even those I thought I would regret,

they’re my most treasured memories!

I see your tower rise high above the trees

but it would be worth the climb,

to see your smile and laugh and tease.

I’ll see you in the castle at the end of time.

Stars sparkle like stolen marquise

I miss my partner in crime!

One day we’ll be reunited, you and me

I’ll see you in the castle at the end of time.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.