Poets logo

The car at the end of my girlfriend's street

A lonely rollercoaster in the dark

By Louis TPublished about a year ago 2 min read
3
The car at the end of my girlfriend's street
Photo by Christian Lue on Unsplash

One night

I was about to leave my girlfriend’s house

We sat in my car, parked outside her house

There were no other cars around

Save one, parked at the end of her street

A shadow sitting in the driver’s seat

***

As we said our long goodbyes

I saw out of the corner of my eye

The shadow stirred, and opened its car’s door

Out stepped a man, short, well-built, dangerous

He turned, and began walking towards us

***

I looked at my girlfriend

then worked out the distance to her front door

“He will be here before you get inside.”

I said. “Strap in. Let’s go.

We’ll do a lap and then come back.

He should be gone by then.”

***

I locked my car’s doors and started driving

The man reached out, trying to block our way

I swerved around, turned left, and sped away

***

We did a loop of the estate

And hoped when we came back, he would be gone

But when we drove along the road

That ran past the end of her street

We saw a rush of movement

As the man ran towards us

Bobbing with intensity

Still here, I thought, my heart rate rising.

Is he only after us? Or will any car do?

***

We drove onwards, trying another way

We drove past rows of weatherboard houses

Until we found ourselves

Down the other end of my girlfriend’s street

I let the car roll forward slowly

Until one more intersection lay between us and him

Our last route of escape

***

“What happens now?” she wondered out aloud

We did not wait for long

Ahead a pair of headlights blazed to life

An engine gave a deep, metallic roar

As the car at the end of the street came

Towards us at frightening speed

***

“He’s coming!” my girlfriend shrieked. “Oh my God!”

I could feel adrenaline kicking in

I accelerated, and then turned left

He chased us through many a narrow street

Past rows of empty cars, and empty houses

The world felt like a lonely place

That held only three people, us and him

As if everyone had already fled

***

“Call the police,” I said, surprisingly calm.

I sounded like the wind was out of me

It felt like being on a rollercoaster

I had not wanted to get on

But now, not knowing how the ride would end

I was afraid to get off

***

We led him on a wild goose chase

Down roads I’ve never driven down before

Until at last we came to a main road

Out in the open, he backed off a bit

With some welcome breathing space

We sped back towards my girlfriend’s street

And stopped outside her house

***

“Get out.” I cried. “Inside!”

In the rear view mirror

I saw the light of two moons rising

Across the midnight road

She grabbed the car door’s handle and then pulled

“It’s locked!” she cried. “Open the door!”

Afraid, I fumbled for the unlock switch

Until his car pulled out in front of us

And came to an abrupt stop

My vain hopes for a quick drop off were dashed

It was too late, there would be no escape

***

And filled with existential dread

I woke up sweating in my bed

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Louis T

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Angelina F. Thomasabout a year ago

    Excellent work. Good morning.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.