Poets logo

The Canyon Trap

A Hollow Cavity Where A Heart Used To Be

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished 27 days ago 1 min read
7
Giuseppe Arcimboldo, "The Allegory of Fire"

I invited all the demons in and set myself on fire.

I sincerely wanted to change so who’s the real liar?

A charming fellow once said:

“If God did not exist, it would be necessary to invent one.”

Be that as it may, it sure has been fun

Fading to black as the ashes ignite—

My Heart fills the void—I become the light.

***** * *****

Rommentary:

The quote is from Voltaire. I consider myself an athiest in that I do not believe that existence can ever be created or destroyed; but, like Voltaire, I always found "atheism" to be pretty short-sighted.

surreal poetryinspirational
7

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson25 days ago

    Agree with Jay!!!

  • Jay Kantor26 days ago

    Hi-C ~ I feel that everyone has a way of reaching out to 'God' in their own way. There is no right or wrong as is so often preached 'at' us of late. We actually live in the 'Canyon' among all the critters - but I don't have an ounce of your imagination to write about it. A new neighbor said she can't deal with the Coyotes; told her they were here long before us. - Always a pleasure - j.in.l.a.

  • I was Catholic until 5th grade. Then I thought I was an atheist until I didn't think I was smart enough to be. Next I was agnostic, and that is where I stayed, even after getting proof, continuing to ask for proof. After my mother died in 2009, as I was crying and praying for her, she said "Honey girl, I'm with God, pray for your siblings!" She used the nickname only she called me. I heard it loud and clear and it was only me in the car.❤️ Now I prefer God/Giizheymanido (Ojibwe for kind and loving spirit) I got a message from my sister too. She died in 2010, the message was years later. Loud and clear. Both my mother's and my sister's messages helped me with their death and with knowing. I was blessed.

  • I'm not sure if I'm considered an atheist. I don't believe in any religions but I do believe that there is a God or something of that equivalent. Religion is man-made rules on how to live life and how to worship God. Thing is, did God even ask to be worshipped. Lol. Sometimes I look at these people and I see them aa a bunch of kids who are still believing in Santa Claus and the Toothfairy 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Lamar Wiggins27 days ago

    Ha! Rommentary! Nice play on words. It definitely works. Deep words in your poem. Thanks for sharing.

  • Yes... I am calling them "Rommentaries" now. Dads gonna dad joke...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.