Poets logo

The Calm After the Storm

I've made my peace with it.

By Rowan FloresPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

When you came you brought the clouds.

The beautiful kind.

The kind that makes you wish you could lay in them

And soak up the warm sun.

But soon those clouds turned to storms.

Tossing my emotions through wind currents.

Taking my sanity hostage in the hurricane.

Now the air is silent. Almost too silent.

I forget what it’s like to have peace.

To wake up and not feel the weight

Of your raindrops on my branches.

And still I stand.

Growing slowly each day.

Blooming in ways I never knew possible.

You may have rattled my leaves

But my trunk is strong.

My roots secure.

I will not waiver.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Flores

Writing has always been a cathartic experience for me. I have been able to process a lot of demons by word vomiting into a keyboard. I hope that by reading my stories they allow you to do the same!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.