Poets logo

The Call of the Void

and other intrusive thoughts

By AphoticPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Call of the Void
Photo by Annie Jiao on Unsplash

I can't seem to silence the evil within

These battles in my head that I never win

All I really want is to make it out

Of this war in my headspace that makes me doubt

My sanity, my identity

I've lost myself and serenity

//

It comes and goes

In waves I suppose

I'm not okay

I'm not even close

//

I'm terrified of the voices in my brain

They aren't mine, but I can't make them go away

I'm afraid it's something I can't avoid

I must not answer to the call of the void

//

It's like a cancer I can't overcome

Infecting my nerves, making me numb

Burrowing it's fangs deep inside of my soul

Eating what's left like a supermassive black hole

Will I survive, Will I succumb

The darkness is taking control of my lungs

//

It comes and goes

In waves I suppose

I'm not okay

I'm not even close

//

I'm terrified of the voices in my brain

They aren't mine, but I can't make them go away

I'm afraid it's something I can't avoid

I fear I will answer the call of the void

//

Am I a degenerate for

These thoughts that I cannot control anymore

Am I sick and twisted because

Of these intrusive thoughts that I just cannot pause

I hear their commands, I have to avoid

I refuse to answer the call of the void.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Aphotic

Horror|Sci-Fi|Fantasy|Poetry

Instagram🌅

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.