Poets logo

The Call in Middle of the Night

or why did I answer?

By Wm Kucera Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Call in Middle of the Night
Photo by Alexas_Fotos on Unsplash

My phone rang at three am the other night

I figured it could be an important call, so I better answer it

*

A metallic-sounding voice started out

"You are to report to the following coordinates"

*

The voice gave a series of numbers and a time and date

I told the voice that they must have the wrong number

*

Then it used my name and repeated the instructions

This didn't sit well with me

*

I said, "Look here, I don't know what country you're calling from

but it's the middle of the night here, and that's just not permitted"

*

"Furthermore, I don't know what sort of bogus

timeshare or cruise you're hawking, but I ain't interested"

*

Before I could hang up, the voice continued

"Failure to report will result in severe consequences"

*

That did it, "So now you're threatening me"

I told the metallic voice to go fuck itself

*

There was a pause on the line, then the voice said

"It is of utmost importance that you arrive at the rendezvous point"

*

"Not happening-- Are you even a person -- I think you're a robot"

To which I told the robot to fuck off again

*

I hung up the phone, and it rang -- so I turned the ringer off

Damn those Robocalls

surreal poetryperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Wm Kucera

https://www.facebook.com/WmKucera

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.