Poets logo

The Bubba Blues

This is me with my soul wide open

By Brenton FPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - September 2022
38

i went to jail one time

through no fault of my own

the judge gave me ten years

ten

years

away

alone

when i say that it wasn't my fault

you know that's a barefaced lie

i embraced my dark side for a time

i still don't even know why

so without a fuss and no further ado

they flung me into a dark dingy cell

trust me when i say there is a heaven

because they...sent me... straight to hell

imagine everything bad in the world

and concentrate it all in one place

add boredom loathing and paranoia

limit and inhibit every single space

dark tendrils of the real and the imagined

gnaw away at your reason and mind

a suffocating shroud of gut wrenching fear

leaves you senseless, defenceless and blind

a wave of flaccid bitterness crashes

and crushes me hard up against my fate

it is this that i have done to myself

as i became a part of the systemic hate

i've seen the evil that lies in men's hearts

there is a taint of the blackness in us all

i have seen it leaving seen it bleeding

out of sight behind every wall

a malignant tattoo of malevolent fists

everything a clear and constant threat

every single misconstrued signal

n o room for feelings no time for regret

every single minute spent on edge

i still hear the noises that aren’t really there

silent echoes reach me from the past

a faint moan of loss and despair

but no noise at all was so much worse

you could feel the wrong in the silence

it promised blood it promised pain

it promised endless violence

i see myself now on shaky knees

back in the past where i once stood

having punished myself more severely

than any system ever could

fact or fictionsad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
38

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wow, so honest and raw, yet beautifully told and constructed. So many great lines in here, and here is one (of many!) that I really connected with "there is a taint of the blackness in us all"....so true. Wonderful poem!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Keep up the excellent work! Good day to ya.

  • Dee Dee Farrrrk2 years ago

    PS - I helped create this monster (but getting him online here is about all I can take credit for)

  • Dee Dee Farrrrk2 years ago

    I feel truly honoured to have had the original read to me. Still haunted.

  • Ebony Dominguez2 years ago

    Wow, that's great. Thank you.

  • Annie Edwards 2 years ago

    This is so powerful and beautifully written!

  • Beautiful piece!

  • I knew a person, a writer, who went to prison, justly, but he just stopped writing. Great work!

  • Shadow James2 years ago

    Enjoyed it

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    That unfolded so well. Bleakly visceral. It felt like reading a first hand experience.

  • Great ending lines hearted

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    True story?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.