Poets logo

The Brute

A Poem Of Baseball Panic

By PG BarnettPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Photo by Matthew T Rader on Unsplash

When I was but a wee small boy,

Before I’d learnt to bat,

I played outfield with little joy,

Outfield’s not where it’s at.

They all did say,

They’d let me play,

But I must never fail,

To stop the ball,

Not let it fall,

O’r fence it must not sail.

So play I did and I grew bored,

For no one ever hit,

A ball which o’r my head did soar,

That I could run and get.

Then one fine day a boy I know,

Stepped up and called his bat,

His finger he did point to show,

Where ball was going at.

And smacked the ball he did that day,

It rose into the air,

But on dead feet I chose to stay,

I really didn’t care.

I guessed the ball would too fall short,

As many had before,

In terror I gave a gloried snort,

When over fence it soared.

Then everyone they yelled that day,

I’d ruined the game you see,

I’d let the ball go out of play,

Now all was left to me.

I climbed the fence to get the ball,

My grappling skills astute,

I quickly scrambled up the wall,

And then I saw the brute.

His head was large his eyes they glowed,

He raised his head and stared,

On grass which seemed just freshly mowed,

Our ball it rested there.

My chances now seemed slim to none,

The brute he challenged me,

To jump into the yard and run,

Then fetch the ball and flee.

I knew my death would surely come,

If I leapt down and ran,

The brute would bite and chew me numb,

I had no other plan.

My friends they yelled to hurry up,

No one could play that day,

Until I beat this brutish pup,

And with the ball came way.

I tried to swallow, I could not breathe,

This brute he seemed to smile,

His eyes they twinkled, he showed his teeth,

I shook and swallowed bile.

I then took courage and down I leapt,

As quick as I could master,

The brute he moved to intercept,

The brute was so much faster.

He knocked me down with open mouth,

His paws upon my chest,

Survival chances just went south,

The brute would do his best.

His bite against my throat I braced,

I closed my eyes in fear,

And then the brute he licked my face,

And slobbered in my ear.

I giggled and he licked again,

Then nudged me with his nose,

I scratched the fur where a collar had been,

In seconds we were close.

The yells of friends from field beyond,

Reminded why I came,

I lobbed the ball we formed a bond,

This brute and I were game.

I’ve never played that field again,

In outfield where I stood,

Although that day I found a friend,

A baseball brotherhood.

Thank You So Much For Reading.

Let's keep in touch: [email protected]

© P.G. Barnett, 2020. All Rights Reserved.

childrens poetry
1

About the Creator

PG Barnett

A published author living in Texas married bliss. Lover of dogs living with two cats. Writer of Henry James Series and all things weird and zany in this world of ours.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.