Poets logo

“The Brutal Truth Of Women’s Intuition”

Grow Into That Voice

By Kristen Bansfield -Pen Name K.R.FieldsPublished about a month ago 2 min read
3

There’s this voice in the back of my mind,

It sings in all honesty without being fare,

A motivator yet the words it spells isn’t always so kind.

Still, I hear it’s point and always try act on it’s advice,

Because when I don’t the outcome ends up not being so nice.

It’s the woman intuition in the young girl,

It’s the dark truth to the lessons before they unfurl.

At some points in time I’d find myself ignoring her advice

And following the attempt I’d feel life’s lessons on my soul-slice and dice.

It’s the soul survivor

When woman choose to ignore their own advice.

It’s the savior when your gut tells you not to take that short cut late at night.

It’s a preserver in the endless water depths

To keep you afloat when your body can’t possibly swim any more reps.

Why we choose to continuously shove her aside is beyond a reasonable reason why,

Especially when she’s the only one to us to never lie.

As we get older in age and mature,

That voice starts becoming the person we grow into.

The saying “grew into yourself” is never more understood.

And the more I listen to this voice shouting from the depths of who I am,

The quieter the harshness of her I-told-you-so’s.

For she is the woman who I was meant to be from the very first time the girl in me sensed a wrong decision coming and warning me with anger

For not listening in the first place when I’d just escape danger.

Though not always pleasantries in my way hurled.

It was her way of showing me how to survive in a mans world.

Now that her and I are one,

A combined force to reckon

I kindly thank her for all the life lessons.

Gratitudeinspirationalhow toFor Fun
3

About the Creator

Kristen Bansfield -Pen Name K.R.Fields

Self-taught inspiring writer. This lady wants to be part of the story in the process of writing stories. She never chose writing, Writing chose her.

Find other stories on Medium/poetizer etc by user name-K.R.Fields

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Oh yeah. Always listen to her, that tiny (or loud) voice, or beware! We do it to ourselves, but you are right, with age comes wisdom and better "hearing." LOL.

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about a month ago

    Awww! A woman's intuition . I have a gift from my ancestors of empath and dreamer psychic of future and past blending with the present at times . Not sure it's just a woman gift.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.