Poets logo

The Brighter Fire Within

A challenge for the stars.

By The Rogue ScribePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2022
19

The final sip of Scotch burns down my throat as I looked up.

Letting the burning question erupt:

What do I see between the stars?

Why do I let them interrupt?

When did they get to decide

I’d be their target to obstruct?

Maybe I gave them too much time.

Too much undeserved attention.

I used to think I saw two faces;

And lips locking between constellations.

I used to picture love in eclipses;

And great dances like planetary rotations.

I once believed in cosmic links

Wishing to explore every other dimension -

With that twin flame they held captive

As an answer to my failed ascension…

I used to dream we burned like them,

That we shone brighter than the sun.

300 pages might make you agree

I used to see you and I as one.

But all I see now are just brittle dots…

Blinking brightly but blurry and distant;

Far too gone for my brown eyes

And for this heart that’s twice as persistent.

I quickly lost interest in dreaming

And checked back into planet earth;

Not because my glass was empty,

But because your eyes and mine gave birth

To the burning answer for a burning question:

What exactly did I see in the moon -

When she’s a million miles away -

And you’re 10 feet across the room?

I don’t care to burn like stars

Unless you do, and I hope you do;

Either way, I’m glad I let them go

To trade stares with you.

heartbreak
19

About the Creator

The Rogue Scribe

Writer. Narrator. Author of 'The Art of Patience, Gratitude & Courage'.

Challenge the world, go rogue with me, and subscribe to support my wordsmithing.

To read my uncensored articles, head over to: https://theroguepath.blogspot.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.