Poets logo

The Bridge Between Dream and Nightmare

Challenge #7 The Dream State

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
14
The Bridge Between Dream and Nightmare
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

In my dreams,

I am constantly packing and unpacking

Ravelling and unravelling

Trying to stretch a house into a home

And fit it into a too-small unsuitable suitcase

~

There’s always a flight I’m late to

That takes too many detours in the opposite direction

I’m constantly going the wrong way.

Security holds no fears in holding me up

Unverified identity, or too much baggage, something’s wrong

~

There’s always something that puts me in a rush

A bus that ends up in a different town

Unwanted nightmare visitors trying to track me down

Or catch me, hurt me, kill me

Sometimes my dog just runs away

~

Maybe I fear my destination

Or what might come once I’m there

Maybe I worry I can’t be myself

Or that myself won’t be accept

On the flight, on the ride, by those around me

~

But in this dream state

Doors open and stretch

Windows never appear

The staircases reach a never-seen ceiling

As I wander through the spiralling sanity of my unconsciousness

~~~

This poem was written for James & I's Summer Writing Challenge Extravaganza. The prompt was to write a fantasy fiction or a poem about your most recent dream(s). There is no word count or time limit for this challenge. Hopefully you'll try this out too!

You can read more about our crazy ambition summer challenge below:

surreal poetry
14

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Wow. Just wow. The imagery is so rich and beautiful.

  • Jack Thompson8 months ago

    Great and intresting post

  • James U. Rizzi8 months ago

    This one is just perfect, really, really perfect. Captured the essence of a dream the subtle psychological reason behind it all rapped into a beautiful poem

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    I really liked some of this dream imagery Oneg - it was crazy!! 👏 😊 A fine entry.

  • This felt very unsettling, like the kinda dream that we would wake up from and feel so confused!

  • You capture the dreamscape so well, Oneg. It almost feels like remembering one of my own.

  • Excellent words, I will try and remember a dream, I have written a few about my dreams, but have to think of something that I can share

  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    Very expressive!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Magnificent & marvelous bridge between dreams!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Great piece- packing and un-packing❤️😉💯👍🎉📝

  • Matthew Fromm9 months ago

    This was great! Thank you for running this challenge.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.