Poets logo

The Blue Lake

A Vivid Summer Sonnet

By Sarah OPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Shimming and shining the blue waves crash back into the shore.

The deep rich blue makes the summer dream come to life.

I settle down on the sandy shore ready to start the picnic.

Strawberries are my summer fruit of choice, pairing well with the shore flower design.

The yellow sun starts to set and the blue lake glows.

From my spot in the sand, I can see the fish.

All sorts of colors like red, orange, and green can be spotted swimming around.

Swimming around in the warm summer lake is my wish.

In I go and the beautiful blue water cools my skin from the kiss of the sun.

The water bends and flows through my hair and brings me peace.

I feel the fish swimming underneath and I wonder what they see.

The vibrant rocks are reflecting the almost gone sun showing I need to cease.

Climbing out of the water my skin instantly dries due to the warm and vibrant light.

Back I go leaving the blue lake behind to slowly disappear into the summer’s night.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sarah O

I am a medical student studying at Saint George's University. I have the opportunity to travel and help those around me. In my career I want to be an OB/GYN in order to help further women's health.

Writing is a true passion that brings joy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.