Poets logo

The birds

🐦

By “M”Published about a month ago 1 min read
7

The first bird is a free bird, and the second is a caged bird

First Bird: I soar high in the sky,

My wings spread wide and free,

No bars to hold me back,

Just the wind beneath me.

~

Second Bird: I watch you from my prison,

Longing for the open sky,

My wings clipped, my spirit broken,

I can only dream and sigh.

~

First Bird: You once knew the freedom I have,

Before they took it all away,

But deep inside, your heart still yearns,

To feel the sun's warm ray.

~

Second Bird: I envy your liberty,

Your endless expanse of blue,

While I am trapped in this small space,

With no escape in view.

~

First Bird: Don't lose hope, dear friend,

For even in your cage,

Your song can still be heard,

And your spirit can be brave.

~

Second Bird: Thank you for your words of

comfort, They bring a glimmer of light,

I may be caged, but my soul is free,

And my dreams will take flight.

how toFriendshipFree VerseFor Funfact or fictionart
7

About the Creator

“M”

Be happy and grateful for everything you have in your life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk29 days ago

    What a beautiful way to look at life! Loved this

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    You painted the poem with true. Lovely 😍

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    I feel for the second bird in the cage, but maybe the first bird would at times like to feel the security of the second bird. Your poem is a great conversation between two birds that could lead to a lot of thinking of other caged animals.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Absolutely true -I believe you captured exactly how the caged ones feel. What a boring life (probably safer, but…) ❣️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.