Poets logo

The Big Three

#VocalNPM

By BrettNotGregPublished 5 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Year One

I am the remnants of a terrible auto accident.

There is now some kind of bigger purpose.

I am looking for any excuse to dismiss thoughts of the future,

and there you are: A beacon of light shining on an otherwise shadowed surface.

The wheels are turning quickly; Too fast for either of us to tap on the brakes.

Control is out of the question, and just as things have taken off,

I can hear the screams and screeching tires from that very same terrible auto accident.

Year Two

I am the remnants of a failed connection.

As much as I'd love to blame you for my shortcomings this year, I have no one to blame but myself.

This was supposed to be the year it all came together, the year I moved on, the year I gained the strength to focus on something else aside from the mistakes I've made.

I have my own place, and I've never felt more independent.

That is until you showed up, and just as quickly as I let you in, I'm all too reminiscent of that failed connection.

Year Three

I am the remnants of an unhealthy cycle.

You now mostly exist as text messages, or a ball of electricity in my stomach, but you're still around.

Again, I'd like to blame you, but these are my decisions.

I truly believe I've gotten stronger, but any moment of weakness leads to me opening up that door again.

For now, I'm truly stuck in this vicious, unhealthy cycle.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

BrettNotGreg

Thirty-something creative with a wide spectrum of interests.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.