Poets logo

the better choice.

"Making the better choice, growing and admitting that the more responsible path is actually the more 'fun' path..."

By M. A. HetussaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Making the better choice, growing and admitting that the more responsible path is actually the more 'fun' path, and realizing that a stable life really does feel good, have all taken effect recently within my aging mind.

Still fueling the rebel inside, I inhale deeply, taking in the lifeline that keeps me sustained. But, this time, I am sure to break, I am determined to pace myself. If I need not a lot to medicate my ill mind, then why waste – in both money and resources?

The second my foot leaves the ground I forget it was ever placed there. I accept that, I guess. An impaired struggle, I strive to remember life as it happens to me, but constantly, I forget. I am blessed with the mind that lives so in the moment, she focuses solely on that, forgetting it as soon as it becomes past.

So, here I sit, ready to make a different decision. Here I am, in a moment of clarity. I stare at the moving picture relaxed, pressure vacant from my body. I follow this stream of consciousness as it flows, never stopping to assess context or direction.

I am happy, to the core and stable.

I am confident, wild and free.

I am learning to embrace my role in life as a kindred spirit to any and all that cross me. Through my ears you speak to comfort. Beyond my eyes, you see familiarity. In my heart, you find your home and in my mind you find the answer.

There is no kindred spirit for me. So, I must be ten times stronger for every individual I encounter.

Holding myself up, holding myself alone, I make a different decision.

I am making the better choice.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

M. A. Hetussa

"Globally minded, artistically grounded, she writes. And when she breaks, words flow from the cracks in her soul."

- Raising funds for my book, expected early 2021!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.