Poets logo

the best art is squint

a poem

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago 1 min read
12
the best art is squint
Photo by okeykat on Unsplash

the best art is squint

it’s ever so slightly off

making you want to reach inside

and straighten,

adjust

.

the best art is incomplete

missing some vital piece

a line of beauty to enhance

it’s design

.

the best art is imperfect

it’s ever so slightly off

it makes you want to improve it

and alter,

adjust

social commentaryart
12

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    I think this is true for all types of art, including what we do as writers. Allow readers to make their own interpretations and think about how they would have written it. Those are my favorite kind of stories

  • Not me misreading squint as squirt. Goes well with your cover pic too 🤣🤣🤣 Jokes aside, your poem was, shall I say, perfect? All your poems and writings are perfect to me!

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    Loved this poem! It’s so true, the art I think about the most is exactly Iike this

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    YES! This is so true! I think of the art that really Impacted me and it always had something slightly off- just like you said!!!

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Yes!!! This is so true! The books that make you chuck them at the sofa at least once 🫣🫣🤣

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Hi, I thought this was gonna be about how if you squint art looks better! 👀 🖼 I don’t even know what I’m on about, but there was something else I read today on vocal about imperfection, but I can’t remember who it was by. Anyhow, this is great Kayleigh & relevant.. and I honestly feel like I see a face in the image above..if I squint! 😅😆

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    The title and the fact it was by you drew me in! so good and so true!

  • Mohammed Darasi8 months ago

    This is what makes us different than robots/AI... we find beauty in imperfection. Great poem Kayleigh

  • Brenton F8 months ago

    This is really good! A sense of hope and future delight. I reckon there's a lot more best out there!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.