Poets logo

The best and worst of us

Memories in tandem

By Bethany TesterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The best and worst of us
Photo by Jakob Rosen on Unsplash

I have found that I tend to have memories in tandem. The parallel of the good and bad all at once.

The first time you said, "I love you". My heart swept up in a warm breeze of joy. The first time you said, "I hate you". My heart ripped away in a tornado of remorse.

The first time you made me feel safe. You held my hand as we took a walk in the darkness of night. The first time you made me feel scared. You screamed in my face as I apologized for something that wasn't my fault.

The first time you were there for me. You held me as I cried for a lost soul dear to me. The first time you left me alone. You choked me as I cried for the person I once knew to stop.

The first time you overwhelmed me with unfathomable joy. You told me you would love me until we die while down on one knee. The first time you overwhelmed me with unfathomable fear. You told me this was going to be the day I die while holding my neck down on one knee.

Today, I find myself having memories in tandem. The parallel of the best and worst of us.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Bethany Tester

I am a 28-year-old mother of 5 with a passion for writing in both fiction and non-fiction. I hope to further develop my skills to possibly make writing into something I can do as a career. Thanks for checking out my content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.