Poets logo

The Beauty of Smugglers Cove

A Maiden Met

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
The Beauty of Smugglers Cove
Photo by Stephan Louis on Unsplash

A smuggler’s cave upon the shore

‘Neath the rolling sandy beach

Blue sky above the entry

As angry surf rushes in the breech.

***

Sailboats bob upon the horizon

White in the rolling blue wash

The surf flowing around me

As I enter through the slosh.

***

My mind turns back the years

Watching movies from my papa’s knee

Expecting to see a bountiful treasure

But instead, a beautiful maiden in filigree.

***

Hair of gold and eyes of aquamarine

Face tanned, high cheekbones and red lips

Arms dusted with a hint of sand

All other maidens she eclipsed.

***

I asked ‘Are you a mermaid’?

To which she laughed and said ‘No, not I’

I felt silly for asking such a question

I sat down, cheeks burning and sighed.

***

We talked of the sea, the beach, the cove

We smiled and laughed at the sky above

At nightfall, I slept heedless of the tides

Dreaming this maid was my one true love.

***

I awoke the next morning upon the shore

With a taste of saltwater on my lips

No sign of the maiden from the cave

But left with memories of her seductive hips.

***

A mermaid in real life I fancy

As real as any maid I met before

That one night in her sweet company

Emblazoned in my mind forevermore.

***

I have often returned to smuggler’s cove

In search of that maid and love of mine

Sometimes I fancy I see her

Swimming happily upon the brine.

***

My beauty of smugglers cove.

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.