Poets logo

The Beauty in Brown

A Poem by Alyssa "Lefty" Molina

By Alyssa "Lefty" P.Published 3 years ago 2 min read
14
My Nephew and His "Chocolate Chip"

"The Beauty in Brown"

I didn’t know the depth of my beauty

until I discovered this Caramel Drop,

no larger than the size of the dull point of a

Sharpie tip when it’s been pushed too hard against the paper,

all at the age of Four.

I looked in the mirror,

& saw many shades of brown

in this tiny caramel drop which rests on my smile line,

adjacent to my left nostril.

Disgusted with myself, I associated shades of brown

with things people usually find unpleasant:

fecal matter,

dirt,

the ground we walk on every day.

No matter how much mama told me I was beautiful,

"Unique,"

and looked “just like Cindy Crawford,”

I couldn’t help but wish I could just scratch this caramel drop

0ff my face with my bare nails.

At the age of Twelve,

my caramel drop was the laughing stock

0f young, vanilla-faced, middle school boys who clearly had no taste

for sweetness, or any flavor other than the

bland, bitter, seasonless lifestyle they were raised on.

I was “ugly” to them, so they reminded me, because I had a

"mole" on my skin.

(And it wasn't the popular kind you buy in packs of three at your local bookstore.)

& I believed it.

The "Lily"

The soil beneath my feat began to change over time, when

A young woman named after

a flower, one that symbolizes purity, love and rebirth,

told me at the age of Fourteen, with warmth and friendliness:

Alyssa, you are beautiful, I just adore your beauty mark,

as she attempted to gently touch my face.

Little did she know,

she changed my perception of all hues of brown.

It wasn’t until I saw the the color brown for its

strength, power, and connection to mother Earth,

that my taste buds started developing a knack

for sweet, tarty caramel,

and the acceptance of the one that rested on my face.

I then began to notice when looking in the mirror

and taking every photo of myself

that my caramel drop takes a sandy brown color whenever

I apply make-up.

Sandy Brown

Sometimes it looks like a watercolor of dried up raw umber on heavy, cold

pressed paper when I get too much Caribbean sun .

Dried Up Raw Umber

My favorite hue is when it looks like cinnamon sugar,

and I can share with my nephew,

who has a tiny chocolate chip in the same location on his face,

that his cute countenance is just as delectable

as mine.

Cinnamon Sugar

He grins,

& he even reminded me one day that I am just like him

because even if I am slightly fair-skinned than he,

I am blessed to be one-of-a-kind, with the small caramel,

Brown drop that

God gently placed on my face with his pinky finger:

& for that,

I will always see the beauty in brown.

inspirational
14

About the Creator

Alyssa "Lefty" P.

28 year-old NuYoRican from Spanish Harlem who has a passion for writing, learning, achieving peace, faith, and empowering others. I've established a career as an educator and career counselor for over five years. Instagram: @alyssaleftyp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.