Poets logo

The Bats

A panic poem

By Erica BallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Nenad Milosevic on Unsplash

...

They come in the night like bats on the wing

whirring behind my eyes,

writhing into my reptilian brain

quickening my pulse.

They creep down my chest to my gut

form hard lumps that lurch

like motion sickness.

But I am not moving my body or mind.

It is the bats. I wait and wait

until they wrap up and rest

so I can too.

...

...

[The first line of this poem came to me at least a couple of years ago, as I was trying to sleep. I’d tried to write it a couple of times with no success. The concept for the rest came just a few weeks ago, ALSO as I was trying to sleep. This writing thing is sure odd sometimes.]

Disclaimer: This was originally published at ericaball.medium.com

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Erica Ball

Trying to turn thoughts into words.

https://linktr.ee/ericamartaball

Thanks so much for reading!!

Likes (or tips) not expected but highly appreciated

I also sell things at Comfytown Shop: comfytown.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.