Poets logo

The Bat Became a Star

My roof is the sky

By Camila CarsolioPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Catching a Star

On a magic carpet roof

I could see the sky and also the town’s lights.

One made by ourselves and one that made all the selves.

I stared hard into the night until it spinned and embraced me at the same time.

Expanding farther away to make me look with that much more desire.

Thinking I would catch a shooting star but instead a bat flew by.

His gray body seemed to cover the whole sky and so I thought he was my star.

Believing that a shooting star I had seen, I made a wish.

That same wish I kept making for the rest of my life.

I remember that night when I think of my flight;

If you catch a star there will be others left behind

but if you help it shine

maybe you will light other people’s path.

excerpts

About the Creator

Camila Carsolio

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Camila CarsolioWritten by Camila Carsolio

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.