Poets logo

The Artist's Medicine

I water colour my skin In lilac blues and pastel pinks Giant puddles of runny paint That drip drip Drip right through My paper wafer surface. The water seeps through And eats me. It eats my anger and my frustration. As it sinks further Flowing like blood Through my cold veins Warm with enthusiasm It finds its home. In the movement of my hand Swift flicks of a battered wrist On a blank canvas, waiting for life. It becomes me. My body. My spirit. My mind. My ideas vivid as they come alive In strokes of art haphazardly placed. The paint takes the lead; It controls me Like a comforting wind cradling a kite flying over the sea. It is my master. I am but its loyal steed. word count: 128

By Sunflower godPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Artist's Medicine
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I water colour my skin

In lilac blues and pastel pinks

Giant puddles of runny paint

That drip

drip

Drip right through

My paper wafer surface.

The water seeps through

And eats me.

It eats my anger and my frustration.

As it sinks further

Flowing like blood

Through my cold veins

Warm with enthusiasm

It finds its home

In the movement of my hand

Swift flicks of a battered wrist

On a blank canvas

waiting for life.

It becomes me.

My body. My spirit. My mind.

My ideas vivid as they come alive.

In strokes of art haphazardly placed.

The paint takes the lead;

It controls me

Like a comforting wind cradling a kite flying over the sea.

It is my master. I am but its loyal steed.

art
1

About the Creator

Sunflower god

everything writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • hira mani2 years ago

    I love this post! I can't tell you how many times I've gone through life without seeing the forest for the trees. It's so important to me to be able to separate my work from my personal life, because I know how easy it is to get distracted by the things that are important to me in my personal life. That's why I like this idea of "the artist's medicine" so much—it's a way of comparing your work with something that's outside of it, and it helps keep you focused on what matters. https://dr-secrets.com/

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.