Poets logo

The Arab Boy.

The story happened to me at work the other day. He didn’t show up the next day, likely he got fired, but we warmed each other’s heart, a spark of pure goodness surrounded in the darkness

By Vladimir FischerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Łukasz Łada

Black pants

black shirt,

some say he's got a dark soul,

but all I saw was

the adolescent eyes,

filled with curiosity, attraction,

pinch of fear

and burning impulse

to cross the forbidden bridge

/

He takes the first step,

approaching slowly, casually,

our eyes meet,

a boost of confidence at least.

/

He wears no mask,

revealing the widest smile,

I answer back with joyful eyes,

squinting like a relaxing cat.

/

Distance meter,

maybe less,

the way he laughs

as he stops his runway show,

hinting at the large quantities

of not so fine

alcoholic beverages,

untying the insides.

/

He is surprised and not,

that I figured it so fast,

telling me to ask all the questions that I have,

the mind starts working overtime,

two steps ahead and nineteen back,

then back again.

/

He gave up,

now doesn't hide his intoxication,

starts telling me about his piety before,

five times a day, a gift for Allah,

but got betrayed, his sister left in shambles,

while classmates laughed at him.

/

He then lifts up his shirt,

brown stab wound,

like ink spillage on the painting,

a hideous, unnatural, and foreign

a defect on the sculpture.

/

Unconvincing story.

I read between the lines

and understand, that he is also

an aficionado of the male form,

the shame of family, a walking curse.

/

Then out of nowhere

he hugs me

with a hug reserved for lovers, brothers, and best friends.

/

I see judging eyes passing by,

I ignore the stare

and return the warmness stocked.

Close to my ear,

he whispers,

I wish you the highest

biggest and the best Jannah.

/

Just two people,

no politics, talking life

breathing rain,

speaking in the language of the unknown.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Vladimir Fischer

Aspiring writer ❃ Corporal ❃ Seeker of Truth & Wisdom ❃

Check out Instagram for more stuff🍀 @fischervladi <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.