Poets logo

The Apartment

A poem dedicated to a space of independence.

By Alexandra AuthementPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Scratched wood and smudged beige walls,

The shriek of a vibrant orange teapot.

Dust and cat hair settle on the desk, the table, the couch, the bed.

Outside, another person’s dog barks, someone else’s car rumbles past.

Outside, another woman’s child plays on the sidewalk.

But the inside is mine.

My bed, my table, my couch, my clothes, my books.

Books filled with women, with power, with new age ideas and nude portraits.

The books are mine.

The tall black chest of drawers is becoming mine

As I gently fold and store items that reveal thighs and stomach and back.

I am an ongoing renovation

I am tearing out the Someone Else’s and the Other’s like moldy sheetrock

I am rebuilding my mine-ness with books and crop tops and a fridge full of beer.

There is not much space between theirs and ours.

But the space is mine.

art
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra Authement

Welcome! I've been writing as a hobby all my life and am interested in sharing my work with a wider audience. Here you'll find poetry, fiction, and short memoirs about my experience growing up in fundamentalist Christianity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.