Poets logo

The Antagonist of My Life Story

Depression has no face, MDD, GAD, PTSD

By Melissa OrosPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

When your rock wall crumbles, like it has no mind left to spare, and you have nowhere else to turn. You may be quivering with quick past pleasure, but at the moment words mean nothing. Never will they grasp the hurt unless they reap such a dead seed. The depth of this root eats at her soul, depression brings darkness; she can no longer see sense in deserving color in her life. Hide, sad girl, behind your wispy veil, the woman is missing in action-or she wouldn't be so weak. Is there truth in these words? Pain overtakes, mind goes static, rage bursts forth. Tears cut path's regret; pointless endeavor. Yet forgiveness handed so freely, underserved, as she is blind to what they see. The me I don't see. Beneath these eyes I see what lies-the negativity rules this life of mine. In this beautiful life, so full of light, why must the shadows guide? I am the shadows, giving off no light of my own, only absorbing every tiny refraction into the void that is me. I'm not only the darkness in my existence. In tough times, I bleed a black sea, flooding small ones sweet dreams, and staining his stunning green rings. Where do I go from here? The abyss is scaring me; I'm too afraid of the dark to fight for the sky. Can she embrace the light, losing one fractal, of what lurks inside, at a time? One tall crutch of support, weaves beneath an arm and around slim clavicle, to pull me high, and a petite cane intertwines fingers of strength, so fine, to keep her from hitting the ground. Whimsy loose in the middle, lost without connection, she'll struggle to breathe. It's the ink between these lines that flow free to share the antagonist of my life story…

Me.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Oros

Macbre poetry. In 2013 I had an emotional breakdown. I notice now most of the inspiration comes from the darker place since then (before 2013), versus my older poetry being light, funny, passionate in love, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.