Poets logo

The Ant

Perspective

By Grace HowlPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Ant
Photo by Shardar Tarikul Islam on Unsplash

I sit in distress, holding my head in my hands

slumped over my knees staring at the ground.

I watch hot tears fall on the cold tile,

when an ant walks into view.

He's confined himself to one tile,

peaking over the grout convinced it's an abyss.

He feels trapped, and becomes stagnant

as he steeps in his own microscopic ignorance.

Can't you see, wee one,

how many lines and shadows you've traversed to get here?

Why should these impair you now?

Can't you tell that you've been here before?

Awakening to the similarity of our situations,

I wondered who had been watching me?

Stumble over illusory affliction,

when my path is unobstructed.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Grace Howl

Young, inspired recent graduate of psychology and business management (May 2022) from Goucher College. Lifelong lover of writing and stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.