Poets logo

The Angel on My Couch

See You Next Time

By Alex CaseyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2022
36
Photo by Walter Randlehoff via Unsplash

We had nearly identical lives, eyes

Shared dreams, struggles

Both childhood victims of men, of justice

I lived, she died

I’ve played it in my head a thousand times

There is no explanation

*

As a teen, I whisper to her, tell her

Of loves, conflicts

No funeral, gravestone night visits

She is with me

She listens to me, replies honestly

We ride our bikes together

*

As an adult, she comes when I’m drowning

Losing battles

I see, feel her gliding gently down

To comfort me

I move over on the couch, she sits here

Her cold spirit gives me warmth

*

I tell her I’m losing faith in people

She brings it back

We talk, listen to music, silence

She laughs with me

She stands, begins to float away again

Still grinning, see you next time

surreal poetry
36

About the Creator

Alex Casey

I'm a full-time educator and part-time writer. My best ideas usually end up on Vocal.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

Alex Casey is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.