Poets logo

The Ancients Unwanted Future

Changes of appearance disguised as behavioral evolution.

By Kece SunrosePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
The Captive Slave by John Simpson

*$*

I have no space to gripe,

I’m not allowed to cry.

No one to aid me in life,

But plenty to help me die!

Ain’t got a true friend in this world,

And my lover left me on the line.

I got the same ol’ blues,

From my ancestors time.

*$*

They don’t care to see me smile,

They don’t like me in my pride!

But it’s news when I’m vile,

Because it makes room to chide.

Ain’t got no support in this world,

And no lemons nor a lime.

I tell the same ol’ stories,

From my ancestors time.

*$*

I don’t have a family bond,

Just relations improvised.

I’m not welcome at the pond,

They say I’m uncivilized!

Ain’t got no allies in this world,

And no way to live sublime.

I tell the same ol’ struggles,

From my ancestors time.

*$*

An unwanted future,

From my ancestors minds.

*$*

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.