Poets logo

The American Blues

A Song for the 21st Century American

By Fred BobbittPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
3

I just can't seem to sleep tonight.

There's too much trouble, too much strife.

I'm too busy trying to save my own life.

I feel like I'm marching to a drum and fife.

The Marine Corps band is playing the blues.

There's nothing but hatred on the evening news.

We get nothing but bad choices, but we still try to choose.

We're sitting on a powder keg while they light the fuse.

I think I've got the American blues.

The American blues is a real life story.

They fed us a line about waving old glory,

And now we sit here in our little shells

Watching our nation descend into Hell.

I feel like there ain't a damned thing to do

But sit here and sing the American blues.

Some folks might think I'm unpatriotic.

Others might say I'm just idiotic.

I'll tell you the truth: I don't give a damn.

I'm awfully worried about old Uncle Sam.

Uncle Sam has been battered, but he stands tall.

He still stands for freedom in spite of it all,

And the very best thing about our Uncle Sam

Is that we're all part of him; he isn't one man.

The American blues is a real life story.

They fed us a line about waving old glory,

And now we sit here in our little shells

Watching our nation descend into Hell.

I feel like there ain't a damned thing to do

But sit here and sing the American blues.

We're all a part of this magnificent nation

Regardless of faith or our skin's pigmentation,

So let's get off of our asses; we've got work to do.

We can turn this great country into something brand new.

We won't be looking back. We'll be looking ahead.

Didn't you hear what I just said?

There are children and old folks who need to be fed!

Let's all join together and stop their abuse,

And maybe we'll get over these American blues.

The American blues is a real life story.

They fed us a line about waving old glory,

And now we sit here in our little shells

Watching our nation descend into Hell,

But maybe there is something we can each do

To help our great country get over the blues.

All we must do is to band together:

Realize everybody is our sister or brother.

The poor and the rich, the young and the old

All have a stake in the country we mold.

There's a time for complacency, but it isn't now.

We must all pull together and fix things somehow.

Our country is threatened from inside and out,

But if we unite, we can figure things out!

The American blues doesn't have to be our story.

Sure, they fed us a line about waving old glory,

But we can get out of our little shells

And stop this great nation from descending to Hell.

It won't be easy, but we've got to choose:

Do we all stand united or sit alone singing the blues?

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Fred Bobbitt

I am a rural American poet. I find inspiration in the simple things which comprise a country lifestyle.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Publius2 years ago

    I deign to ask you not to use the Flag and mention the USMC as a part of your driveling. Publius

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.