Poets logo

The Almighty Calming Keyboard

From chaos to serenity

By Sue McGaugheyPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2
The Almighty Calming Keyboard
Photo by Kaitlyn Baker on Unsplash

When life changes abruptly and every day normal changes

I find comfort in my almighty keyboard

When I experience chaos in my daily routine

I start typing while praying to my Lord and fighting my demons with a swift sword

Thoughts flow through my mind like a river swiftly moving filled with honey

The darkness trying to penetrate my mind soon turns sunny

My fingers grace the keyboard lightening fast as my mind creates memories from my past

Sitting down to type was once part of a normal routine

Now in times of chaos and darkness it helps my brain feel serene

I realize many things I took for granted, not thinking about their value

Now I've learned to appreciate those things that make me feel that I no longer need to wallow

My almighty keyboard brings me peace, allows me to express myself freely

I give thanks and gratitude to my keyboard and the fingers that function well to bring my dreams to reality.

Written by: Sue McGaughey

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Sue McGaughey

I worked 24 years in special education primarily doing behavior management. Writing has always been my passion. I was lead writer for a Lifestyle and Entertainment magazine for 8 years, until they closed during Covid.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • James M. Essig9 months ago

    Beautiful! Very profound!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.