Poets logo

The Age of Unreason

I have never told this to anybody

By bishnu prasadPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
The Age of Unreason
Photo by Paolo Bendandi on Unsplash

On January 17, 1989, a youthful white man entered the schoolyard of Cleveland Grade School in Stockton, California, with a self loading rifle. He shot and killed five youngsters and injured 32 others.

The people in question, as well as a considerable lot of the injured, were the offspring of Vietnamese and Cambodian outcasts.

at the point when I was a little kid

I longed for homicide

a young lady named V —

who made companions easily

donned purple

furthermore, was not horrible to me not once

I have never told this to anybody

must I recognize her race

or on the other hand just mine I was little then

as little as those five youngsters

killed in 1989

in Stockton CA

by a customary man

who thought about the shooting

as an appeasement

for the misfortune in Vietnam

for the deficiency of regard

for white individuals because of reasons

that don't have anything to do with disdain

claims the researcher

remaining before us in the auditorium

it isn't private as a matter of fact there is no inclination

I record it not private no inclination

also, attempt to plan a canny inquiry

but I disdain

that I've never heard this set of experiences

also, can't stand that a common man

will some way or another track down battle in anything

also, call it courage

call it penance five dark peered toward youngsters

glance back at us from the researcher's slide

passing lighting their countenances everlasting

they seem as though me or more regrettable

like my kids

who are playing somewhere else

in another schoolyard

every one of our names missing from the pages of history

in the wake of meeting the survivors

the researcher stopped his exploration for quite some time

pausing or unfit to bear it or the first

draft was a clear page a quiet in the auditorium

soaked in time

quiet

shocked by the issue of phrasing what word

could start what word could

how would we pose history an inquiry

isn't the inquiry I need to pose

but then I record it I recall

about Vietnam my civics instructor said we won

I recall as youngsters

I would have rather not played war

be that as it may, my sibling did in the forest behind our home

where we viewed as a neglected shed

the indented rooftop uncovering a cut of sky

bedsheet absorbed water

no lamp fuel two bygone era lights

upset on the floor

where parasite generated a sort

of yard the overgrown walls

the interminable soggy

we had sneaked in through a window

my sleeve getting on a shard of glass

that once shaped an ideal sheet he pointed

to the foe roosted in a silver maple right outside

what's more, my hands turned into a gun

focusing on sunset bound leaves I'm recalling this

in the auditorium

as I gauge the contrast between ruin

also, play

indeed, even as kids

we knew reality

however knew it just melodiously

that a few needed us dead

that set apart by contrast

we became to some

intruders usurpers an outsider plague

our actual game

pillaged nothing our own

it is working out

a voice encourages one more legend into fight

what's more, who's to say it isn't there

the voice the legend or the fight

I can't see it

yet, I feel it

the researcher makes sense of

it happens consistently

furthermore, records the kids' names

as though into the grand field

of a colder time of year schoolyard

they will currently walk children and girls of war

we were never the adversary

we never lost the conflict

by dinnertime we were home once more

songs of praise spinning in our minds

information we didn't need

we didn't ask who lived here

or on the other hand why they left or how we knew

such vacancy could be our own

would could it have been that St. Augustine said the kids

need a transcendentalism

we can't have one.

Next Page

performance poetryfact or fictionchildrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.