Poets logo

The After

I am still here

By Amy ThomasPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

Empowered and proud of my place and purpose in this world.

Celebrated with the like minds free to be me and see you

Why did we let it end? The needs are still here.

I am and we are all still here.

I am and we are all still women, mothers, fathers, Black, Hispanic, and LBGTQ+ LIVES having the exact needs and wants to give and share; even with the what about Me’s that can’t see every day of every year granted to them

Gone are the companies, corporations, and celebrity big names making their presence & support known & seen for glitter & fame

But what next do we get from those & them?

I am and we are all still here

I am and we are all still women, mothers, fathers, Black, Hispanic, and LBGTO+ LIVES wanting to be seen & heard loved, and respected.

Not the what about Me’s that can’t see the freedom, liberty, and happiness privileged to them. Don’t they know what they have, and we have not. Why can’t they give us our time & see we too want what they forgot, just liberty and freedom. And to be SEEN

Gone are the parades and celebrated history of giving knowledge to the next generation & tell us the truths of the We’s that came before to start our FIGHT

To learn and continue to grow as people offering kindness, understanding, acceptance, and education for only a small glimpse of our year

My place, our place, your place in this world

Is more than one day, one month, one time of a year

It is the All and Everything that we are

I am and we are all still here

I am and we are all still women, mothers, fathers, Black, Hispanic, and LBGTQ+ LIVES

We are still here to love and celebrate our history, our present, and our future to come

As a WE it is possible to give it our ALL

We come together as one when need is near; no disaster, natural or other, will knock us All

So why can we only celebrate to educate for one month of a year

I am and we are all still here

To exist with one another & be open to seeing more than what you are & accepting our differences.

I am a woman, a mother, a friend, a counselor, a fighter, a survivor, and a believer, and am not limited by any month or day of the year.

I am still here

We are all still here

Every day is our day to celebrate one another

Be kind every day to each other. It takes US to make this world OUR place every day & year.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Amy Thomas

I am a counselor, mother, wife, and so many other things in this life. I enjoy writing and have wanted to explore new ways to share and explore my creative side. I am excited about this next chapter and look forward too my next steps.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.