Poets logo

the absurdity of us

I found you but I cannot keep you…

By Joann ClaudePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2022
21
the absurdity of us
Photo by Michael Marsh on Unsplash

Do you know how many

times

I’ve said

This is it

That it feels different

That I’ve found it

My person

The one

Him

Well you don’t give me

That feeling

I know

It’s not

You

There’s no

Meant to be

For us

This is not one of those times

I will not say it again

Soul mate

It isn’t a possibility

I wont let my mind-

My heart-

Go there

You are far above

Any dream

Better

Then any prince

Your armor is far

Shinier

Then any knight

Better then any

List of qualities

More genuine

Then any romcom

Too good to be true

The real deal

I have to hold my breath

When I’m around you

One exhale

Could change everything

And the thought of you

Leaving

Is one I cannot bear

But one I know I need to learn to

Accept

as my reality

That men like you

Are not for girls like me

Someone like you

Has earned a damn queen

And I selfishly want to be

Her

But I know how it is

I will not mistake pity

For attraction

Kindness

For love

I found you

But I cannot keep you

The absurdity of

Us

The idea that

You

Are my destiny

The hope

That your face

Will be the one I wake up to

Holding you

Kissing you

Raising a family with you

Growing old with you

A nice thought

Blessed to know you

Blessed by your kindness

But frantically trying

To guard my heart

From falling for a

Dream

heartbreak
21

About the Creator

Joann Claude

“I'm not sure why

I have the inexplainable urge

To tell everyone I come in contact with

That I'm dying”

-a million thoughts all at once after a brief interaction with a customer at work

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.